5 Interesting facts About Republic Day Parade

1. Previously, parades were held in a variety of venues. Between 1950 and 1954, the epic Republic Day procession was staged in Irwin Stadium (now National Stadium), Kingsway, Red Fort, and Ramlila grounds.

2. Every year, on January 26th, the Prime Minister, President, or ruler of any country is invited to the parade. The first parade was held on January 26, 1950, with Indonesian President Dr. Sukarno as a special guest. Pakistan's Governor-General, Malik Ghulam Muhammad, was invited to the parade at Rajpath in 1955.

3. The procession participants begin getting ready at 2 a.m. and arrive at the Rajpath around 3 a.m. However, the parade's preparations begin in July of the preceding year, when all of the participants are formally notified of their participation. They will practice parades at their respective regiment centers till August and will be in Delhi by December. Before publicly performing on the 26th of January, the participants had already trained for 600 hours.

4. Rajpath hosted the first Republic Day celebrations in 1955. Rajpath used to be known as the Kingsway, after India's then-emperor, George V. The road's name was changed to Rajpath after India gained independence in 1947.

5. Each member of the army who takes part in the march must go through four layers of investigation. Aside from that, their arms are extensively inspected to guarantee they are not carrying live bullets.