15 Lesser Known Facts About IPL

1) Only two Indians to have won MVP award:

The Indian Premier League is 13 years old now, and only two Indian players have so far won the Most Valuable Player award. Sachin Tendulkar was the first one to win the award in this category in the 2010 IPL season. The Master Blaster scored 618 runs for Mumbai Indians in that season. He was also the Orange Cap winner in the tournament.

Virat Kohli was the second to do it in the eight IPL season. Kohli was sensational that season and scored 973 runs. Interestingly, Aussies lead the chart with Shane Watson winning it twice, Adam Gilchrist and Glenn Maxwell one each.

2) Cost of one ball in IPL 2018:

The broadcasting rights of IPL 2018 were sold for a whopping Rs 16347.5 crore to Star India Network, Reportedly, it meant that 1 ball would cost approximately Rs 21 lakh.

3) No no-ball for 386 overs:

Piyush Chawla is one of the most underrated spinners of Indian cricket history. However, the leg-spinner holds one of the most astounding records. During his time with Delhi Daredevils, he did not bowl a single no-ball for 386 overs. For eight years, he had bowled in the most disciplined way one can imagine.

4) Only two overseas players have played more than 100 matches for a single team:

The extravagant T20 tournament has come a long way since its commencement in 2008, and over the years many players have switched clubs. But Kieron and AB de Villiers are the only two players who have played over 100 matches for one team.

ABD made his debut for Delhi, but since 2011 he was a loyal RCB servant. The South African batsman played 101 matches for the Bangalore side. As for Pollard, he made his debut for Mumbai Indians in 2010. He has played 123 games for the franchise.

5) Virat Kohli has been part of three double century partnerships:

The Indian batsman has become a horror for the opponents especially when he is on the chasing side. Interestingly, Kohli has been part of three double century partnerships in IPL history. The first came in 2012 against Delhi Daredevils, when he added 204* with Chris Gayle. Second was in 2015 with de Villiers: 215* against Mumbai Indians. The third was the highest out of the three when he added 229 with ABD in 2016 against Gujarat Lions.

6) Harbhajan Singh has most ducks to his name:

The Indian classic off-spinner holds the record of most ducks to his name in IPL history: 13. He was part of the Mumbai Indians for nine seasons and was let go by MI in the 10th IPL auction. He is not part of the Chennai Super Kings.

7) RCB holds the record for the highest and the lowest total in IPL history:

Royal Challengers Bangalore has always been a team of power hitters and holds a very unique record to their name. They have the highest and lowest total to their name.

In the IPL 2013, RCB scored a humongous total of 263/5 against the Pune Warriors. It was in that game Chris Gayle fired an unbeaten knock of 175. Interestingly four years later in the 2017 IPL, they were wrapped up by Kolkata Knight Riders for a meagre total of 49 runs. The top scorer of that innings was Kedar Jadhav.

8. Team With Most IPL Final Losses

This fact is a no brainer given the earlier facts on the list, but for someone who does not know those, this will be a rather interesting fact of IPL as the team with most IPL final losses is the same team who has made it to the IPL finals the maximum number of time. It is Chennai Super Kings.

9. First Bowler Of IPL

Praveen Kumar was the bowler who bowled the first delivery in the IPL. The first ball was played by Sourav Ganguly. Praveen Kumar also gave away the first run in the IPL but Sourav Ganguly was not the one who scored it.

10. First Run In IPL

The first run in IPL came from a delivery bowled by Praveen Kumar, however, it came from the bat of Brendon McCullum. Adding to this interesting fact about IPL the first extra run in the next 2 seasons of IPL came from Sri Lankan players, Thilan Thishara and Chaminda Vaas respectively.

11. First Four In IPL

In the year 2008 when the first match was played between KKR and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Brendon McCullum hit the first boundary against Zaheer Khan.

12. First Six Of IPL

Interestingly, the first six of the IPL was scored by Brendon McCullum but it is a rather unknown fact of IPL that the first six was also conceived by Zaheer Khan.

13. Most Maiden Overs In IPL

Another Indian shines as Praveen Kumar is the IPL bowler with most number of maiden over at 14. Interesntingly, the 2nd and 3rd spots are also taken by Indian players with 10 and 8 maiden overs. Irfan Pathan has bowled 10 maiden overs while Dhawal Kulkarni has bowled 8 maiden overs.

14. Most Hat-Tricks In IPL

In the 12 seasons of the Indian Premier League, the most number of times a bowler has taken a hat-trick is as low as 3. The 2nd player on the list has taken 2 hat-tricks. Can you guess these 2 people?

The person with 3 hat-tricks is Amit Mishra and the player who has taken 2 hat-tricks in his IPL career is Yuvraj Singh. Talk about an IPL fun fact.

15. First Indian To Win An Orange Cap In IPL

The first Indian to ever win an orange cap, the award given to the highest scorer of the tournament, was won in 2010, in the 3rd edition of IPL. What comes out as an interesting fact of IPL is that it was none other than the master blaster, Sachin Tendulkar, who won it.